Was English Hard?

When I first start attending this class, I thought this is new and different then my former English class that I took before. I was actually having difficulty in English class since I come from another country and it is not my first language.  English 101 is my first class at University of Advancing Technology, and I know that it will be hard for me to keep up with it since the very beginning.  Even though I am having trouble with the class, I have also learned some new material that I have never used before in English class.  This class helps me understand that it is important to focus a hundred percent on the writing and make sure to proofread before publishing it.  I have learned some new skills from this class but also having difficulty and need to work harder on it.

It is my first time creating a blog, and I think it is a great idea to create a blog, so that you can share your work and getting feedback from other classmate.  Not only that but I can also talk about my major, what I like in the blog and communicate with other students.  This is a new experience for me and I think that it was a great idea to help students revised their work.  I am a student who does not like to show my work to other because I do not have confidence in my work, but the blog assignment make me have to show it to other and get review from it.  It help me to be more open and let other people gave their opinion to my work so I could fix my mistake and become a better writer.

I have always having difficulty in grammar and get my idea into my writing.  I have always heard from my past English teacher that I have great idea but I could not get through with what I want to talk about and confused the reader.  I always have this idea in my head but I could not put it into the correct words and that is what make me struggle.  Writing is not an easy things to do, because having an idea and putting it into your own words is much more difficult than I imagine.  Taking more time writing little by little could help improve my work, since I always tried to force the text into my writing it become confused and I lose my thought and did badly on my writing.

Plagiarism is one of the most important things in writing.  I was also having a hard time trying to not plagiarism but I did make mistake and did not cited the sources.  I have learned how to source my work, and gave credit to the writer who gave me the idea to put into my work.  I have working really carefully and make sure that I gave credit to the originally writer and cited their work in my final essay and let the reader know that this person is the writer of this quotes.  This is a skill that could help me in the future to make my writing more professional and learn not to still another person voices and used it as your own.

I learn that the class is actually hard for me since I still need help in English subject.  I realize that I have to get tutoring on English to help me write better.  The job that I want to get required me to write a report, therefore I could use some of the skill to make my report more professional and accurate.  I have learned that letting other people reading your work and gave opinion on it could help me write better.  I realize it when I did my final essay when I have another classmate revised my work, and I could see a lot of things that is wrong in the essay and make changes to it.  Overall the class was hard for me but I will work harder on it and make sure I understand all the material and get help when I need it.

     

Leave a comment